Just an update from DC…

23 07 2008

My daily walk around Dupont Circle is nothing less than a harrowing experience and every time I hear about a pedestrian being hit I naturally cringe because I am just waiting for me to be that pedestrian. This is not a post about the traffic in and around DC or even the dangers of walking in the city, although I must say I will be on the lookout for any rogue black Corvettes roaming the city.

The “Prince of Darkness”, Robert Novak, driving his black Corvette managed to hit a pedestrian and not notice while driving down through Farragut North today. My first reaction was maybe, he only bumped the pedestrian, which would explain the fact that he was only given a citation for hitting someone with his car. But from eyewitness accounts the pedestrian he drove into, hit the windshield before landing by the curb.  Mr. Novak continued on down the road and it was only when a bicyclist caught up to him a block later, promptly putting himself between the car and the rest of the road did Mr. Novak stop.

This is not the first time that Robert Novak has made news with his driving. In 2001, he had some choice words for a pedestrian and when questioned he had this to say:

“He was crossing on the red light. I really hate jaywalkers. I despise them. Since I don’t run the country, all I can do is yell at ’em. The other option is to run ’em over, but as a compassionate conservative, I would never do that.”

Luckily, this pedestrian seems to be okay.  But if you live in DC, watch out for those black Corvettes roaming the city

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

